Is It a Cold or an Allergy?

Whenever they feel run down and get a runny nose and scratchy throat during the winter, many people assume they have a cold. But allergic rhinitis can cause similar symptoms. How do you know which one it is?

A runny or stuffy nose, frequent sneezing, red eyes, a scratchy or sore throat, difficulty breathing, and coughing can be caused by either respiratory tract infections or allergic rhinitis.

Some examples of common allergy triggers at this time of year are mites, pet hair and mould. Pollen from early flowering plants such as hazel or alder can trigger symptoms as early as end of January. So how can you tell whether you have an allergy or a cold? Here are some signs to watch out for:

  • Fever

is a sign of infection and does not occur with allergic rhinitis.

  • Swollen lymph nodes

in the throat can sometimes occur with a respiratory tract infection, but rarely with allergic rhinitis.

  • Nasal secretion

sometimes contains pus during an infection, which gives it a yellowish/greenish colour. Allergic rhinitis causes a secretion that is clear and watery.

  • Itching

is a sign of an allergic reaction. Itching of the eyes or nose normally does not occur during a respiratory tract infection.

  • Throat Symptoms

caused by an allergy often include a burning or scratchy sensation, but not severe pain or difficulty swallowing.

While a simple cold usually goes away by itself, an allergy specialist should be consulted if allergic rhinitis is suspected. Skin, blood and, if necessary, provocation tests will help identify the cause and determine the correct course of treatment. If a pollen allergy is diagnosed, treatment with specific immunotherapy can reduce the risk of allergic rhinitis progressing to asthma.

Erkältung oder Allergie?

Wer im Winter eine laufende Nase hat, ein Kratzen im Hals spürt und sich schlapp fühlt, vermutet meist, erkältet zu sein. Allerdings: Auch ein allergischer Schnupfen verursacht ähnliche Beschwerden. Woran erkennt man, um was es sich handelt?

Eine laufende oder auch verstopfte Nase, häufiges Niesen, gerötete Augen, ein kratzender oder brennender Rachen, Atembeschwerden und Husten können sowohl bei einem Atemwegsinfekt als auch beim allergischen Schnupfen auftreten.
Typische Auslöser für eine allergische Reaktion um diese Jahreszeit sind beispielsweise Milben, Tierhaare oder Schimmelpilze. Auch Pollen von frühblühenden Pflanzen wie Haselnuss oder Erle verursachen bereits ab Ende Januar Beschwerden. Woran erkennt man, ob man unter einer Allergie oder einer Erkältung leidet? Hier ein paar Hinweise:

  • Fieber

ist ein Infektionszeichen und kommt beim allergischen Schnupfen nicht vor.

  • Geschwollene Lymphknoten

am Hals lassen sich manchmal bei einem beim Atemwegsinfekt ertasten, beim allergischen Schnupfen eher nicht.

  • Nasensekret

kann beim Infekt manchmal eitrig sein und dadurch gelblich/grünlich aussehen, beim allergischen Schnupfen ist das Sekret dagegen klar und wässrig.

  • Juckreiz

ist ein Hinweis auf eine allergische Reaktion: Augen- oder Nasenjucken treten beim Atemwegsinfekt eher nicht auf.

  • Beschwerden im Rachen

äußern sich bei einer Allergie oft durch ein Brennen oder Kratzen und nicht durch ausgeprägte Schmerzen oder starke Schluckbeschwerden.

Während man bei einer unkomplizierten Erkältung abwarten kann, bis sie von alleine abklingt, sollte man beim Verdacht auf einen allergischen Schnupfen einen Allergologen aufsuchen. Haut-, Blut-, und eventuell Provokationsstests helfen, die Ursachen zu erkennen und entsprechend zu therapieren. Wird eine Pollenallergie beispielsweise durch eine spezifische Immuntherapie behandelt, sinkt das Risiko, dass der allergische Schnupfen „eine Etage tiefer rutscht“ und zum Asthma wird.