Vitamin D protects against allergic asthma attacks

Vitamin D is like a miracle vitamin for the prevention of many diseases. It is often impossible to confirm the assumption that the vitamin has a protective effect. But it does appear to have a positive effect on allergic asthma.

Vitamin D is formed in the skin under the influence of sunlight.

Asthma patients who take vitamin D in addition to their standard medications experience fewer allergic asthma attacks requiring hospital admission. This was the finding of a review study from the renowned Cochrane network1. Researchers are now working on a new project to find out who benefits the most from taking the vitamin: patients with naturally low vitamin D levels or all asthma patients across the board.

For the study2, researchers analysed the data from 955 participants from seven studies. They were then able to confirm a finding from previous studies: While taking vitamin D, patients had fewer severe asthma attacks requiring treatment with cortisone. Out of 286 patients who took vitamin D, 85 had severe attacks versus 121 (out of 284 patients) in the placebo group.

However, they were unable to draw any clear conclusions from the analysis of the individual blood tests. In particular, asthma patients with low vitamin D levels (less than 25 nmol/L or 10 ng/ml) benefited from vitamin D supplementation. But the researchers were unable to prove whether a positive effect is generally linked to baseline vitamin D status.

The authors conclude that vitamin D supplementation is an inexpensive therapy with few side effects that can help reduce the frequency of severe asthma attacks and the number of deaths from the disease.

If you are interested in vitamin D supplementation in addition to your asthma treatment, you should discuss it in detail with a medical specialist.

Vitamin D

  • Vitamin D is formed in the skin when it is exposed to sunlight. Depending on the season and the time of day, five to 25 minutes of sun exposure to the face, hands and forearms are sufficient for the body to generate enough vitamin D.
  • Only a small part of the daily requirement can be obtained through food. Fatty fish (salmon, herring, mackerel), egg yolks and mushrooms (porcini, chanterelles) are particularly good sources of vitamin D.
  • According to Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung (German Nutrition Society – DGE), 20 micrograms of vitamin D per day (800 IE) are enough to provide an adult with sufficient vitamin D. This estimate applies to people who do not form enough vitamin D on their own.
Sources:
1 Vitamin D for the management of asthma. Martineau AR et al. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2016, Issue 9. Art. No.: CD011511. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD011511.pub2/full
2 Vitamin D supplementation to prevent asthma exacerbations: a systematic review and meta-analysis of individual participant data. Jolliffe, David A et al. The Lancet Respiratory Medicine , Volume 5 , Issue 11 , 881 – 890 http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S2213-2600(17)30306-5

Vitamin D kann vor schweren allergischen Asthma-Anfällen schützen

Vitamin D gilt als Wundervitamin zur Vorbeugung zahlreicher Erkrankungen. Oft können Studien die vermutete Schutzwirkung nicht bestätigen. Bei allergischem Asthma scheint das Vitamin aber einen positiven Effekt zu haben.

Vitamin D wird in der Haut unter dem Einfluss von Sonnenlicht gebildet.

Asthma-Patienten, die zusätzlich zur ihren Standardmedikamenten Vitamin D einnehmen, erleiden seltener allergische Asthmaanfälle, die zur Krankenhausaufnahme führen. Zu diesem Ergebnis waren Forscher in einer Übersichtsstudie des anerkannten Cochrane Netzwerks gekommen.1 In einem neuen Projekt wollten sie nun klären, wer besonders von der Vitamingabe profitiert: Patienten, deren Vitamin D-Spiegel von Hause aus niedrig ist, oder alle Asthma-Patienten gleichermaßen.

Für die Untersuchung2 werteten sie die Daten von 955 Teilnehmern aus sieben Studien aus. Dabei konnten sie zunächst eine Erkenntnis der vorausgegangenen Studie bestätigen: Unter Vitamin-D Gabe erlitten weniger Patienten schwere Asthmaanfälle, die mit Kortison behandelt werden mussten: Von 286 Betroffenen, die Vitamin D einnahmen, erlebten 85 eine entsprechende Attacke. In der Gruppe, die ein Scheinmedikament erhielt, waren es hingegen 121 (von 284 Patienten).

Die Analyse der individuellen Blutwerte ergab jedoch kein eindeutiges Bild: Zwar profitierten Asthmatiker mit niedrigem Vitamin D-Spiegel (weniger als 25 nmol/l bzw. 10 ng/ml) besonders von der Vitaminergänzung. Die Forscher konnten aber nicht beweisen, dass eine positive Wirkung generell von der Höhe des Vitamin D-Ausgangswertes abhing.

Zusammenfassend beschreiben die Autoren die Vitamin D Ergänzung als kostengünstige und nebenwirkungsarme Therapie, die dazu beitrage, die Häufigkeit von schweren Asthmaanfällen und die Sterblichkeit durch die Erkrankung zu senken.

Wenn Sie Vitamin D zur Ergänzung Ihrer Asthmabehandlung einsetzen möchten, sprechen Sie dazu in jedem Fall ausführlich mit einem Facharzt. 

Vitamin D

  • Vitamin D wird in der Haut unter dem Einfluss von Sonnenlicht gebildet. Damit der Körper genügend Vitamin D produziert, reichen – je nach Jahres- und Tageszeit – 5 bis 25 Minuten Sonnenlicht auf Gesicht, Händen und Unterarmen.
  • Über die Ernährung kann nur ein geringer Teil des Bedarfs abgedeckt werden. Besonders reich an Vitamin D sind Fettfisch (Lachs, Hering, Makrele), Eigelb und Speisepilze (Steinpilze, Pfifferlinge).
  • 20 Mikrogramm Vitamin D pro Tag (800 IE) genügen laut der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Ernährung, um einen Erwachsenen ausreichend mit Vitamin D zu versorgen. Dieser Schätzwert gilt bei fehlender körpereigener Bildung.
Quellen:
1 Vitamin D for the management of asthma. Martineau AR et al. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2016, Issue 9. Art. No.: CD011511. http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD011511.pub2/full
2 Vitamin D supplementation to prevent asthma exacerbations: a systematic review and meta-analysis of individual participant data. Jolliffe, David A et al. The Lancet Respiratory Medicine , Volume 5 , Issue 11 , 881 – 890 http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S2213-2600(17)30306-5