22. February 2019
The Mini-Farm Effect: Pets Protect Children from Allergies

Children living with dogs and cats during the first year of life have significantly fewer allergies than children without pets in their environment. The more pets, the less likely allergies are to occur.

Years ago, it was believed that children develop allergies if they grow up with pets in the home. Since then, many studies have shown that the opposite is true. Children raised with pets have a lower risk of developing allergies later in life.

Bill Hesselmar and his team from the University of Gothenburg in Sweden have gone a step further, demonstrating that the allergy risk decreases further as the number of animals in the home increases.

How did the team conduct the study?

The scientists looked at two groups:

  1. They analysed 1,029 allergy questionnaires from children aged seven and eight. One group of children lived in the area surrounding the major city of Gothenburg. The second group lived in Kiruna, a small town in the far north of Sweden.
  2. They examined the data from two earlier studies. One study focused on children from a city near Gothenburg. The second focused on children from rural areas, some of whom grew up on farms. The pulmonary function of the children was tested. Their blood was also tested for certain immune system cells.
    This time, Hesselmar and his team asked all 249 children from both studies whether they kept pets in the home.

What were the findings of the study?

The more dogs and cats the children had in their environment during the first year of life, the less often allergy symptoms occurred. The researchers searched for asthma, eczema and allergic rhinoconjunctivitis, whose symptoms include red, swollen and itchy eyes and a runny, itchy nose.

In the first group, 49% of children without pets developed allergy symptoms at some point. On the other hand, children in homes with five or more pets never had allergies. The research team also asked about allergies in the previous year and found that 32% of children without pets had one allergy while children with five or more pets had none.
The results were similar in the second group.

How can the findings help?

Hesselmar believes that the presence of several animals has a ‘mini-farm’ effect on the children, as if they were living on a sort of small-scale farm. This means that the children come into contact not only with the animals but also with other microorganisms and additional factors, such as airborne particles, that have an impact on the immune system. These factors train the children’s immune system, which protects them from allergies later in life, not only to animals but also to other potential allergens, such as pollen.

Original Study

Hesselmar B et al. Pet-keeping in early life reduces the risk of allergy in a dose-dependent fashion. PLOS One 2018;13(12):e0208472

Autorin: kf/ktg

22. Februar 2019
Der Mini-Farm-Effekt: Haustiere schützen Kinder vor Allergien

Kinder, die im ersten Lebensjahr mit Hunden und Katzen aufwachsen, haben später deutlich weniger Allergien als Kinder ohne Haustiere in ihrer Umgebung. Je mehr Haustiere, desto unwahrscheinlicher die Allergie.

Vor Jahren dachte man noch, dass Kinder Allergien bekommen, wenn sie mit Haustieren aufwachsen. Dass das Gegenteil stimmt, haben inzwischen viele Studien gezeigt: Mit Haustieren aufzuwachsen verringert das Risiko, später eine Allergie zu entwickeln.

Bill Hesselmar und sein Team von der Universität Göteborg in Schweden haben jetzt sogar gezeigt, dass das Allergierisiko immer weniger wird, je mehr Tiere mit den Kindern im Haushalt sind.

Wie ist das Team vorgegangen?

Die WissenschaftlerInnen haben zwei Gruppen betrachtet:

  1. werteten sie 1.029 Fragebögen zu Allergien von 7- und 8-Jährigen aus. Ein Teil der Kinder kam aus dem Umland der Großstadt Göteborg, der zweite aus Kiruna, einer Kleinstadt ganz im Norden Schwedens.
  2. griffen sie auf Daten aus zwei früher durchgeführten Studien zurück: Eine Studie hatte Kinder aus einer Stadt in der Nähe von Göteborg untersucht, die zweite Land-Kinder, die zum Teil auf Bauernhöfen aufwuchsen. Bei diesen Kindern hatte man die Lungenfunktion überprüft. Außerdem war ihr Blut auf bestimmte Zellen des Immunsystems untersucht worden.
    Bei den insgesamt 249 Kindern der beiden Studien fragten Hesselmar und sein Team jetzt noch nach Haustieren im Haushalt.

Was kam bei der Untersuchung raus?

Je mehr Hunde und Katzen während des ersten Lebensjahrs der Kinder um sie herum waren, desto seltener traten Allergiesymptome auf. Die ForscherInnen fahndeten nach Asthma, Ekzemen und der allergischen Rhinokonjunktivitis, die sich durch Rötung, Schwellung und Juckreiz der Augen und eine laufende, oft juckende Nase äußert.

In der ersten Gruppe hatten 49% der Kinder ohne Tiere irgendwann Allergiesymptome; Kinder, in deren Haushalt es fünf oder mehr Tiere gab, hatten dagegen noch nie Allergien. Das Forschungsteam fragte auch nach Allergien im letzten Jahr: 32% der Kinder ohne Tiere hatten eine Allergie, aber kein Kind mit fünf oder mehr Tieren.
In der Gruppe 2 waren die Ergebnisse ähnlich.

Wofür sind die Erkenntnisse hilfreich?

Hesselmar vermutet, dass mehrere Tiere einen „Mini-Farm“ Effekt auf die Kinder haben, so als würden sie auf einer Art Mini-Bauernhof leben. Das bedeutet, die Kinder kommen nicht nur mit den Tieren selbst in Berührung, sondern auch mit anderen Mikroorganismen und weiteren Faktoren wie Schwebeteilchen in der Luft, die das Immunsystem beeinflussen. All das schult das Immunsystem der Kleinkinder Es schützt sie vor späteren Allergien, nicht nur gegen Tiere, sondern zum Beispiel auch gegen Pollen.

Originalstudie

Hesselmar B et al. Pet-keeping in early life reduces the risk of allergy in a dose-dependent fashion. PLOS One 2018;13(12):e0208472

Autorin: kf/ktg