How to Replace Dairy Products If You Have a Milk Protein Allergy – Tips and Recipes

Today I am going to tackle the subject of milk protein allergy with a brief explanation and some advice on how to replace dairy products. But first of all, it is important to know that if milk is causing digestive issues, this could be due to an intolerance to lactose, the sugar in milk. Lactose intolerance is not an allergy and requires a different treatment! Before you make any changes to your diet and impose any unnecessary restrictions, you should obtain a proper diagnosis from a doctor.

A milk protein allergy causes the body to overreact to milk protein, which is actually harmless. Problems occur with digestion and sometimes the skin, breathing and circulation are affected. There are different types of proteins in milk that trigger allergic reactions. These are classified as caseins and whey proteins:

  • Casein, heat stable up to approx. 120°C
  • Alpha-lactoglobulin (whey protein), heat stable up to approx. 77°C
  • Beta-lactalbumin (whey protein), heat stable up to approx. 70°C
  • Serum albumin (whey protein)

People with a whey protein allergy can sometimes tolerate cow’s milk products that have undergone ultra-high-temperature processing (for example, UHT milk). Some can also drink sheep, goat or mare milk without any issues because the whey proteins in these animal products are slightly different from those in cow’s milk. However, when allergists diagnose a milk protein allergy, they initially recommend that all animal milks be eliminated.

So here are my tips for replacing dairy products, including some delicious recipes you can make yourself. When eliminating dairy, it is important to get enough calcium, especially for children. They have milk protein allergies more often than adults and need calcium for optimal growth. This mineral is found in many foods. For example, spinach and broccoli are vegetables with a high calcium content. High-calcium mineral water is also available.

It is also important to know that many substitute products contain soya, wheat or nuts. So check first with your allergy specialist whether you are allergic to any of these ingredients.

Milk

  • Alternative: soya milk, almond milk, rice milk, cashew milk, oat milk, macadamia nut milk

Yogurt

  • Alternative: soya yogurt, coconut yogurt, hemp yogurt, cashew yogurt, almond yogurt, lupin yogurt, all plant-based yogurt alternatives

Curd cheese

  • – Alternative: plant-based curd cheese

Cheese

  • Alternative: plant-based cheese

Sour cream/ Crème Fraîche

  • Alternative: plant-based sour cream

Cream

  • Alternative: plant-based cream

Butter

  • Alternative: margarine

Kefir

  • Alternative: water kefir, Kombucha

 
Note:

  • Ready meals, instant drink mixes, baked goods, sausage products, sweets, spice blends, supplements, medications, cosmetics and personal care products can also contain milk proteins or whey. If you have an allergy, always check the ingredients list.
  • People who are allergic to dairy proteins must avoid the following ingredients: milk, milk powder, skim milk powder, milk protein, casein, whey protein, lactalbumin, lactoglobulin
  • The following ingredients are safe: lactic acid, lactose in medications

 

Oktober 2017, author: Stefanie Grauer-Stojanovic